Polkastarter to Host Inaugural Blockchain Gaming Awards

The first-ever blockchain gaming awards, dubbed “GAM3 Awards” will take place on December 15 and hosted by Polkastarter Gaming. The best web3 games of the year will receive awards during the event, as decided by a panel of judges and the gaming community. Over 200 games will take part, and a jury of 30 experts in gaming and web3 will oversee the voting process. Other participants include gaming ecosystems partners and media outlets.

In order to be eligible for the prizes, games must incorporate and use blockchain technology without neglecting the core gameplay experience. The GAM3 Awards will shine a light on the best web3 games out there, while also demonstrating the possibilities of blockchain technology integration without sacrificing game quality.

What GAM3 means for Web3 gaming and what’s in it for participants

The main purpose of the event is to honour the next generation of web3 game developers. The event’s planners are asking game studios to submit the names of their own employees, developers, and experts from all gaming fields. The nominees should best reflect the future of web3 gaming to be part of the inaugural “GAM3 Changers” list.

The GAM3 Awards aim to celebrate the finest web3 games and to demonstrate blockchain’s positive impact on the gaming industry. The event will be broadcast live on the Twitch, YouTube, and Twitter feeds of Polkastarter Gaming. Winners of the inaugural GAM3 Awards will receive more than just bragging rights; they will also split $300,000 in prizes donated by industry leaders.

In total, there are 16 prizes up for grabs, including the “Game of the Year” award. There will be “Best” awards going to a wide variety of game types, including action, mobile, adventure, casual, role-playing (RPG), shooting, graphics, strategy, card, multiplayer, esports, graphics, and content creator. Moreover, there will be trophies for Most Anticipated Game, Games’ Choice, and People’s Choice, with additional categories planned for future iterations.

The voting process 

Yoshihisa Hashimoto, former Square Enix CTO and director of games like Sonic: Unleashed and Final Fantasy XIV Online, and Edward Chang, former Senior Director of Partnerships at Electronic Arts, are just two members of the all-star jury with decades of gaming expertise. Members of the jury include ex-top executives from EA, Riot Games, Zynga, Xbox Game Studios, Amazon Gaming, and Unity Technologies.

Community voting will account for 10% of the final tally, with the jury’s decision carrying 90% of the weight. Only the People’s Choice and Best Content Creator categories will be voted solely by the community. Game companies voting for their version of Game of the Year will decide the Games’ Choice category.